+359 888 350 643


+359 888 350 643
Company Formation Bulgaria



Double Tax Treaties in Bulgaria

Updated on Monday 18th April 2016

Rate this article
5 5 1
based on 1 reviews

double_tax_treaties_In_bulgaria.jpgBulgaria is among the most active countries regarding the signing of treaties for double tax avoidance. Currently there are treaties signed with 68 countries: : Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordon, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Qatar, Moldova, Mongolia, Netherlands, Norway, North Korea, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Zimbabwe.

A legal entity must prove that his residency is in a country with which Bulgaria has signed a double tax treaty. This proof is usually issued by the foreign tax authority.

How to avoid double taxation

The treaties stipulate that there are two ways to avoid the double taxation: through the method of exemption (the non-resident legal entity is not paying taxes in Bulgaria) or though credit (taxes are paid in Bulgaria, but the foreign country is covering it).

In the treaties, the withholding taxes on dividends, interest and royalties are also regulated. Usually, the withhold tax on interests, royalties and dividends is 10%.

The interests are exempt from taxes, if they are paid to a public body. This applies to the Bulgarian companies where the foreign participation has residence in Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Belgium, China, Georgia, Hungary, India and Indonesia.

The withholding tax is also depending on the foreign participation in a Bulgarian company.

For example, there is a withholding tax of 5% for the Bulgarian companies where the Armenian shareholders are the owners of at least 40,000 USD from that company’s capital. In the rest of the cases, the rate is 15%.

If the foreign shareholders are from Albania, Cyprus or Denmark and own at least 25% of the Bulgarian’s company capital, then the withhold tax on dividends is 5%. For the rest of the cases, the withholding tax on dividends is 15% for Albania and Denmark and 10% for Cyprus.

To avoid the tax fraud and tax avoidance, Bulgaria has signed agreements regarding the exchange of information. Year after year, countries make exchange of lists with the taxpayers.

The legal entities are firstly checked to see if taxes are paid in the partner countries and only after that, tax relieves may be granted.

Foreign investors who want to find out more about the avoidance of double taxation may contact our  company formation agents.


There are no comments

Comments & Requests

Please note that client queries should NOT be posted here but sent through our Contact page.

Meet us in Sofia

Call us now at +359 888 350 643 to set up an appointment with our specialists in company formation in Sofia, Bulgaria. Alternatively you can incorporate your company without traveling to Bulgaria.

As our client, you will benefit from the joint expertize of local lawyers and international consultants. Together we will be able to offer you the specialized help you require for your business start-up in Bulgaria.

Contact us



BridgeWest takes great care of selecting its affiliates worldwide and Bulgaria is no exception.

Francesco Dagnino, Partner of
Lexia Avvocati

Read more testimonials